Thursday, March 29, 2012

Pre-season training...

A few Cobras were spotted wrapping up their pre-season training getting one final session in at the Bishops OD dinner ahead of the 2012 Internal League campaign...



Sunday 1st April: Touch 4pm

Monday 9th April (public holiday): Touch 4pm

Wednesday 11th April: Friendly Match TBC

Sunday 15th April: Touch

Tuesday 17th Aprile: Captains Practice

Wednesday 18th: First league game (TBC)


Friday, March 09, 2012

Thursday, March 08, 2012

The Cobras 6x7's team...

The Cobras vibe keeps growing!

Here are some shots from last Monday of the Cobras victory over defending Varsity Cup Koshuis Champions, Patria. Huge vibe, huge celebrations.

Oh so brave

Monday, March 05, 2012

Cobras stun Koshuis champions

The Cobras, from UCT, pulled off an upset by beating defending Steinhoff Koshuisrugby champions Patria, of NWU-Pukke, by 28-25 in Cape Town on Monday.

First-half tries from Steinhoff Cobras skipper Callan Artus and fullback Sisa Njongwe gave the home side an 18-10 lead at the half-time break.

Although Steinhoff Patria, in their first Koshuisrugby Championships match of the season, threw everything they had at them in the second half, the Cobras managed to hold on to secure the valuable victory.

Left-wing Matthew Foster and outside centre David Russell scored tries for the Cobras in the second half, whilst Patria fullback JJ du Toit crossed twice for the team from Potchefstroom and in the end the Cobras came up with a result that will give them plenty of encouragement looking ahead.

The scorers:

For the Steinhoff Cobras:Tries: Artus, Njongwe, Russell, Foster
Cons: Mallett
Pen: Mallett

For Steinhoff Patria:Tries: Du Toit, Le Roux
Cons: Bouwer 2
Pens: Bouwer 2

The teams:

Cobras: 15 Sisa Njongwe, 14 Josh Rowe, 13 David Russell, 12 Sibongokuhle Khumalo, 11 Matthew Foster, 10 Doug Mallett, 9 Kyle Wickins, 8 Dino Loizides, 7 Callan Artus (captain), 6 Evan Strauss, 5 Wesley Kennedy, 4 Zach Beukman, 3 Devan Knoetze, 2 Jonty Tatz, 1 Jason Bissict.
Replacements: 16 Warren Handley, 17 Stephan Hartzenberg, 18 Robert Inskip, 19 Tom Horne, 20 Matthew Crawford, 21 Phil Taberer, 22 Geoffrey van Ryneveld, 23 Jamie Manuel.

Oh so brave!

Courtesy of